Customer Comments

Bideford House
7 Wilson Road Southend-On-Sea Essex SS1 1HG 01702 345007 60 4.4
Lovely
Arrived to a warm welcome. Room spacious clean and with lovely decor. Perfect spot for the shops and the front. Would recommend. I'll be back soon..

Mr. Neil Spice - 26th August, 2013
Verified Review

well-decorated
I am very impressed by wallpaper,layout etc. of the hostel. The hostess is really friendly and always ready to help. The restaurant she recommended is good both in food and price and the discount voucher she provided is useful:)Thanks

Miss. Lin Fu - 25th August, 2013
Verified Review

enjoyed our stay
I am a mother with a 16 year old son. We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and couldn't fault it. It was clean and comfortable and suited our needs and would definitely stay here again

Mrs. Valerie Marshall - 22nd August, 2013
Verified Review

Excellent
We booked this hotel to attend a family wedding. As we had a small dog we had difficulty finding accommodation, so rang prior to booking to check if he would be allowed in the room. John was very helpful and assured us this would be OK. On arrival there was a mix up with the room, but we were given a very nice room on the first floor. It was nicely decorated, with a large bathroom. John gave us extra hangers to hang up our wedding outfits. Parking was a bit crowded, but most days we were able to park in front or very near to the hotel. Our dog had a nice walk each morning along the promenade, which is close by, and never barked once. The other guests were quiet and polite. The hotel is within reasonable walking distance to the main shopping centre, and other facilities. We were very pleased with our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Mrs. Elizabeth Lamb - 19th August, 2013
Verified Review

Comfortable & friendly
Stayed one night in a single en suite room. The room was small but clean and comfortable and at £35 very good value for money. Proprietor was very friendly and helpful.

Mr. Harry Marjoram - 16th August, 2013
Verified Review

60th birthday party at westcliffe casino
should give it 5/5 for value for money, clean and friendly service,everything we needed for overnight stay.

Mrs. Linda Whitbread - 12th August, 2013
Verified Review

Nice hotel
We hve enjoyed our stay. Our room is clean. The hotel is just so close at the sea side. We hve slept well. I just wish more sachet of coffee next time when we come to visit southend-on-sea next time. Thank you!

Mrs. Marivic Palmer - 8th August, 2013
Verified Review

Double room
It was clear and very nice place, in my room was everything what I need, I'm really rested.I recommend. Thank you.Joanna.

Ms. Joanna Blaszczyk - 30th July, 2013
Verified Review

One night Stay
Stayed one night hubby and I due to a wedding. our stay was pleasant Clean Quiet the breakfast was next door b&b and was super service and welcoming 10/10. Breakfast times were excellent till 11am .Would visit again . (PS The only comment would be that in the En suite you could not get the Kettle filled in the Sink as the sink to small to get the Spout under to fill, so had to fill the cup and then fill kettle.) cliental welcoming and friendly .

Mrs. Rosemary Arthur - 20th July, 2013
Verified Review

Little Gem
Highly recommended, great stay.

Sharron Miaris - 19th July, 2013
Verified Review

Mrs
We stayed just the one night, hotel was basic but spotlessly clean. Other patrons were a little noisy on the stairs. Very restful though. Dog enjoyed the stay also. Just woofed a couple of times due to the people stomoing up the stairs, maybe carpet need to be a little thicker.

Mrs. Georgina Bowd - 1st July, 2013
Verified Review

nice and cozy!
loved the place, the room was clean, like the bathroom, and the bed very comfortable. reasonable price, amazing location near to the southend on sea train station (litterally 5 minutes walk). tv and wifi available and functioning, tea/coffee facilities in the room.

Miss. Valentina Fida - 18th June, 2013
Verified Review

Exactly what I wanted
Great location, good room, friendly staff. Would definitely recommend.

Mr. Keith Oliver - 4th June, 2013
Verified Review

My stay
I stayed at the Bideford Hotel for one night and had a very comfortable stay. the staff were very hepful and couldn't do enough to help. I will definitely recommend it to my friends

Mrs. Jean Hainsworth - 29th April, 2013
Verified Review

Bideford Hotel Southend
A very clean and comfortable stay. Great shower and very helpful staff. Good value for money, definitely stay there again.

Mr. Anthony Pickering - 22nd April, 2013
Verified Review

Our stay
comfortable stay, clean room and friendly welcome however option for full english breakfast would of been preferable.

Mr. Gary Parratt - 16th April, 2013
Verified Review

Overnight Stay
Nice room, clean bright and warm. Bathroom the same, lots of hot water. Would gladly recommend to others

Mr. Keith Dickinson - 15th April, 2013
Verified Review

Bideford Hotel
Very clean but basic Very friendly lady who made us very welcome

Mr. Robert Simmons - 26th March, 2013
Verified Review

Great B&B!!!
Really nice, clean and well located!

Miss. Lydia Musial - 21st March, 2013
Verified Review

Bideford House
Very tidy , only complaint the radiator in the small room with bunk beds did not work , so children came into our room in the night as they were cold. great location for attractions and very friendly staff.

Mr. Trevor South - 18th February, 2013
Verified Review

Mr
Perfect B&B close to the town center, very friendly owners,felt really cozy!! Amazing breakfast and all that ver very cheap! Totally will recommended to a lot of people!

Mr. Konstantinos Sideris - 12th January, 2013
Verified Review

stay at bideford house
we enjoyed our stay here,it was nice and warm.quiet .very clean.continental breakfast makes a change from the usual egg and bacon .we had a nice wet room.have stayed before and will stay in the future

Mrs. Vanessa Flatt - 12th November, 2012
Verified Review

A LITTLE JEWEL
A neat, tidy and very clean Dog friendly B&B, with a most welcoming host and serving an excellent Continental Breakfast. Situated only 50 yards from the Esplanade and delightful cliff gardens with walks down to the Sea and a 5 minute walk to the centre of Southend-on-Sea with it's many shops, cafes and restaurants this is a perfect stay over spot, although parking close could prove a little difficult.

Mr. Alan Rootes - 7th November, 2012
Verified Review

great stay
i was visting southend for the weekend with my friends and we had a wonderful time. the bideford house was very welcoming and the rooms were clean and tidy. breakfast was very nice. we wound stay again

Miss. Tana Mccarthy - 28th October, 2012
Verified Review

spotless b and b
just what we needed for our one night stay.comfy bed.nice breakfast.spotlessly clean.lovely white fluffy towels.bathroom a bit small but ok.have booked again

Mrs. Vanessa Flatt - 17th September, 2012
Verified Review

recommendable
Very nice, clean and friendly place. Close to beach and all pier attractions. We'll definately get back there.

Miss. Arleta Falkowska - 28th August, 2012
Verified Review

bideford house
Very pleasant place to stay with friendy staff. Cheers from Amsterdam

Mr. Paul Vriens - 24th August, 2012
Verified Review

Great place to stay
The B&B owner is very friendly and helpful. We arrived far later than expected and he already tried to reach us and was waiting all day for us to come.. then, we needed a power adapter and a taxi for the next morning and breakfast too since we had to leave early in the morning. He arranged everything. Payment was quick and simple, the room very large and comfortable. We felt perfectly fine during this stay. I can really recommend this place, it´s close to the seaside too :) Thumbs up!

Mrs. Verena Linhard - 22nd August, 2012
Verified Review

Review
Well priced budget B&B with a good friendly host.

Mrs. Angela Davies - 16th August, 2012
Verified Review

LONDON OLYMPIC GAMES
WE WERE IN ESSEX TO SEE MOUNTAIN BIKE RACES FOR OLYMPICS GAMES SOUTHEND ON SEA IS A QUIET TOWN BIDEFORD HOUSE IS A QUIET AND PLEASANT B AND B

Mr. Vassal Thibaut - 14th August, 2012
Verified Review

Bideford House
Clean, comfortable, friendly overnight stay. Kids in separate bunk room. Kettle, fridge, sink and microwave. Good location.

Mrs. Carolyn Skittrall - 13th August, 2012
Verified Review

Olympia
I was very satisfied, evereything ok Thank you John

Ulrich Ibold - 9th August, 2012
Verified Review

Brilliant Place To Stay
A stone's throw from the beach, gardens and Cliffs Pavillion and a short walk from centre of Southend and train station. So convenient. The B&B itself is quiet, clean, comfortable and very relaxed. Owner John and wife Sue extremely kind and helpful and obviously go the 'extra mile'. It's the 2nd time I've stayed here and it will be my first port of call for a room when I return to the UK.

Mrs. Maureen Waite - 2nd August, 2012
Verified Review

bidford guest house
i would like to thank john for a very pleasant stay over the sunny period this guest house is very warming and comfortable and really enjoyed our stay highly recomended charles st albans

Mr. Charles Armstrong - 28th July, 2012
Verified Review

Good Value
I can't really complain about anything, it is a nice guest house and the owner is very friendly. I've stayed here a few times and will do again when I visit Southend again.

Mr. Daniel Maddock - 26th July, 2012
Verified Review

Great Location
Clean, quiet and the location is great. I would recommend. Thanks

Ms. Katarzyna Splawska - 24th July, 2012
Verified Review

Bideford House
My stay at Bideford House was, from the beginning to end, warm, welcoming and comfortable. The accommodation was scrupulously clean with well appointed facilities. I would have no hesitation in recommending Bideford House to anyone staying in Southend-on-sea.

Mr. Andrew Noble - 21st July, 2012
Verified Review

All fine
Free street park directly outside - Good. Welcomed well, Room clean and tidy, spacious wet room type shower - Good. Cooked breakfast, well waitered. Good value

Mr. Richard Hubbard - 20th July, 2012
Verified Review

Very pleasent stay
My wife and I stayed for a night and had a very pleasent stay, room was clean and everything functioned perfectly. The hospitality was good, especially for breakfast as the gentleman owner was very helpful. Definately worth the money paid.

Mr. Sean Fucile - 10th July, 2012
Verified Review

Great Location
Clean, quiet and the location is great. I would recommend it and will stay there again. Good for 1-2 nights.

Mrs. Milena Sealtiel - 18th June, 2012
Verified Review

bideford house
had a very pleasant stay at bideford house . was made very welcolm .room imaculate .breakfast was very good lots to choose from .will be going back in july .very good value for your money highly recomended

Mr. Albert Burnett - 13th June, 2012
Verified Review

Sojourn
Great location, easy access to seafront and centre for amenities but also nice tranquil spot with fantastic views across the estuary.Good to have the option of breakfast or not. Very clean rooms, well appointed and freindly reception.

Miss. Barbara Lee - 9th June, 2012
Verified Review

Mr & Mrs Noskes
Nice pleasent hotel, would stay again. Only downside was lack of parking.

Mr. Graham Noakes - 29th May, 2012
Verified Review

Nice b and b
Clean room, nice selection of food to help yourself to for breakfast. My only complaint would be that there was very little interaction with the owner where normally I'm used to someone being around if I want to ask about the area and places to go.

Miss. Hayley Fox - 22nd May, 2012
Verified Review

Did The Job
I only wanted a bed for the night in truth as I travelled down from Crewe for the big play off game. Wasnt expecting a cooked breakfast but got one next door in the adjacent B&B and very nice it was, Room was ok. good VFM, very good location also.

Mr. Andrew Scoffin - 18th May, 2012
Verified Review

Very pleased!
We booked Bideford House having not read the reviews first, and I have to admit, had I read them first I would not have booked. We were therefore holding our breath as to what we would find when we arrived, but I have to say that we had a really great stay. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, brand new bedding, fluffy towels. One room looked as though it had been very recently refurbished (we especially liked the polka dot duvet cover!!). Bideford House is situated in a great location, very close to the centre of Southend, the station, shops and the attractions on the seafront. The owner was friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was continental as described, tea, coffee, bread, croissants, yoghurt, cheese, meat and orange juice, served in the lovely breakfast room - we were very happy with it. We have friends in Southend and often come to visit, and I wouldn't hesitate to book and stay at Bideford House again, it's good value for money and the bad reviews do seem unfair!!!

Miss. Zoe Cosens - 14th May, 2012
Verified Review

Real coffee
Great, simple, quiet place. Very close to the centre of town. Host was great, room was clean and exactly as described. Nice help yourself breakfast and real coffee! Would recommend it and would stay there again.

Mrs. Deb Loganathan - 8th May, 2012
Verified Review

Good!
Nice Place!

Mr. Sanjay Persand - 16th April, 2012
Verified Review

Nice hotel for family
Nice and comfortable with sea view, Very good for family stay, breakfast also good, free internet is another plus. Thank you Bideford House!

Dr. Ming Wei - 10th April, 2012
Verified Review

Would recommend
Very clean, modern establishment with a professional service also just the right distance to all ammenities.

Miss. Sue Bain - 9th April, 2012
Verified Review

Pleasingly pleasant
Although I had read poor reviews of Bideford House on other sites, I was completely pleased with my stay there. I had a small single room that was entirely serviceable, clean, and tidy. The toilet and shower were spotless, moldfree, and while a bit on the small side, completely in line with what I was hoping for. Bideford's location on the Cliffs is lovely, and it's only a short walk to Southend Central as well as to restaurants and shops. How anyone could fault this place is beyond me.

Mr. Matt Farr - 19th January, 2012
Verified Review

19th November 2011
Clean, Tidy and well looked after. Even received a call to check that I would be arriving, as I was running late.

Mr. Stephen Pattinson - 21st November, 2011
Verified Review

Thanks a lot!
I was very happy with the comfort I had at Bideford House. Nice and clean,great venue,esy access to Essex University and City Center,close to the train Station. Very good quality for money, I will return again for my future business trips and I would warmly recommend to friends. Thanks a lot!

Mrs. Camelia Dobrica - 20th November, 2011
Verified Review

Bideford House
We had a lovely stay at Bideford House. We felt very welcome and the room we stayed in were more than comfortable. We will absolutely stay there next time we visit Southend.

Mr. Kenneth Mcewan - 25th October, 2011
Verified Review

bideford house
we enjoyed our stay we would come back again and recomend it to friends and family

Miss. Alison Hales - 23rd October, 2011
Verified Review

Clean and tidy
Clean and tidy and good value for money. Will stay again if in the area.

Mr. Tim Bradley - 17th October, 2011
Verified Review

lovely stay
it was a very nice room plenty of space with the extra room with bunks and it was spotless beautiful big white towels breakfast was fine lots of choice.

Mrs Pacey - 13th September, 2011
Verified Review

Great service
We booked the family suite on the top floor. the double bed room is a very good size, plenty of space and very clean. The hotel is hygienic and its right by the sea front. I would recommend it to a friend

Mr. Blessing Gutsa - 31st August, 2011
Verified Review

visting southend
very good accomodation,

Miss. Vivienne Smith - 20th August, 2011
Verified Review

One Night Stay
We had the Family room at the top of the house - it was great! Separate room with bunk beds for the kids, even a little kitchenette and a big walk in shower. Everyone very firendly and helpful and so handy for the front! Breakfast was great - only thing to improve it would be if there was the chance of hot food, but appreciate logistics make it trick..the breakfast room was nice and clean and sunny. We have relatives in Southend on Sea with a small house, so this is a great discovery and we will most definitely stay again!

Mrs. Sarah Lowry - 17th August, 2011
Verified Review